Menu Close

(7.14) What is the Alternative Residential Model (ARM)?

(7.14) What is the Alternative Residential Model (ARM)?

A system called the Alternative Residential Model (ARM) numbers CCFs by the level of care they provide. The system looks at staffing ratios, amount of consultant services, and the needs of residents. It ranks each CCF as ARM Level 2, 3, or 4. ARM Level 2 has the lowest staffing ratio, which means people who live there need less supports and services. Residents at ARM Level 4 CCFs need more supports and services. Often, ARM Level 4 CCFs serve people with challenging behaviors. Level 4 is also broken down into nine sub-levels, A to I. Level 4I homes provide the highest level of services and supports in the ARM system.

You have the right to make choices about where you live and who lives with you. You can stay in your ARM Level facility, even if your needs change. But, if your IPP team decides you need less supports and services than your facility’s ARM Level pays for each resident, regional center can pay the facility less money for you to live there.[1]Section 4681.7(a). The law only allows the lower amount when your IPP team agrees your ARM facility can safely provide what you and the people you live with need. If you later need more supports and services, the regional center must change the services to meet your needs.[2]Section 4681.7(b).

Regional centers must also provide the emergency and crisis intervention services you need to stay in the home of your choice.[3]Section 4648(a)(10). The law also allows the regional center to purchase extra staff for your ARM facility.[4]Section 4648(a)(9)(F).

1 Section 4681.7(a).
2 Section 4681.7(b).
3 Section 4648(a)(10).
4 Section 4648(a)(9)(F).